About Doctoral Schools at UMCS

The Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin is the largest public university on the eastern side of the Vistula River. We are an institution deeply rooted in the region, where for 75 years, we have fulfilled a culture-forming and opinion-forming function and have made a significant contribution to building a knowledge-based economy. To this day, over 241,000 students have graduated from our Alma Mater. Our advantages are a great educational offer and extensive experience.

Based on the Act of the 20th day of July 2018, Law on tertiary education and science, on April 24, 2019, the Rector of UMCS established three doctoral schools: Doctoral School of Humanities, Doctoral School of Social Sciences, and Doctoral School of Quantitative and Natural Sciences.

As of October 1, 2022, the Doctoral School of Humanities was transformed into the Doctoral School of Humanities and Art by the Order No. 86/2022 of the Rector of Maria Curie-Sklodowska University in Lublin, dated September 29, 2022.

The School of Doctoral Sciences of Quantitative and Natural Sciences is run jointly with the Institute of Agrophysics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Lublin, the Institute of Soil Science and Plant Cultivation in Pulawy, and Jerzy Haber Institute of Catalysis and Surface Chemistry Polish Academy of Sciences.

The first doctoral students began their education on October 1, 2019.

The Doctoral Schools pursue academic excellence in teaching, learning, and research to serve the local, national, and international communities. We value students, faculty, and staff from different backgrounds committed to creating an atmosphere of trust and respect characterized by a rich diversity of people and ideas.